Canada Office +1 514 288 1997

An Introduction to St. Lucian Citizenship

St. Lucia is an independent Commonwealth country, having gained independence from the UK on 22 February 1979, a day celebrated each year with a public holiday. The country’s history has been influenced by the native Carib people, Africans, the British, and the French. 

St. Lucia is an island in the Lesser Antilles region of the Eastern Caribbean and covers 617 km2. It is one of the Windward Islands and more mountainous than most Caribbean islands, with the highest point being Mount Gimie at 950 m above sea level. Two other mountains, the Pitons, form the island’s most famous landmark. The natural beauty of the island makes it a popular tourist destination, with attractions including the rain forest, national parks, botanical gardens, a world heritage site, gorgeous Caribbean beaches, and even a drive-in volcano. English is the official language of St. Lucia; however, locals also speak French Creole.

St. Lucia is a member of the United Nations, CARICOM, OECS, and the Eastern Caribbean Currency Union. Its regional currency (Eastern Caribbean dollar, XCD) has been pegged to the USA dollar at a rate of 2.70 since 1976.

The island nation attracts foreign business and investment, especially in its international banking and tourism industries. Tourism is St. Lucia's main source of employment, foreign exchange earnings, and income, accounting for 65% of jobs and income and 65% of its GDP. Its manufacturing sector is the most diverse in the Eastern Caribbean area. Crops such as bananas, mangos, and avocados are grown for export.

Key advantages

  • A St. Lucian passport provides visa-free travel to 146 destinations, including Europe's Schengen Area, Hong Kong, Singapore, the UK, and many others.
  • No residence or visitation is required.
  • A range of investment options are available.
  • The program has attractive investment and processing costs.
  • St. Lucia recognizes dual citizenship.