Dual (or Multiple) Citizenship

Dual citizenship is the result of the interaction of the laws of two countries. People can become dual citizens automatically (normally by birth or marriage), or after successfully applying for the citizenship of another country.

When it comes to multiple citizenship – often also referred to as dual citizenship - the world is divided: there are countries whose citizenship laws allow their own citizens to acquire another citizenship without losing their present citizenship. In contrast, other countries do not allow the acquisition or holding of another citizenship, i.e. the acquisition of another citizenship may lead to the loss of the present citizenship.

Accordingly, the acquisition of an alternative, second citizenship is only legally possible for citizens of those countries which allow dual citizenship.

The following is an overview of citizenship laws in selected countries with regard to dual citizenship. The information is based on Henley & Partners' interpretation of citizenship legislation in the relevant countries.

Countries which Allow Dual Citizenship

The following countries allow the acquisition of another citizenship:

BelizeEl SalvadorIraqMaltaRussiaUnited Kingdom
BrazilFijiIrelandMexicoSerbiaUnited States of America
CanadaFinlandIsraelMontenegroSpain (only in certain cases)Vietnam
ChileFranceItalyNew ZealandSri LankaWestern Samoa
ColombiaGermany1JordanPakistan2St. Kitts & Nevis 

1Generally not allowed; Persons retain their former citizenship only if they apply for permission so prior to taking out another citizenship. Otherwise citizenship is generally lost ex lege; in Austria: additionally Austria allows dual citizenship if Austrian citizenship is acquired under § 10 (6) of the Austrian Citizenship Act

2According to Chapter 14, Annex J-Article 6* of 1951 Pakistani Nationality Law and the amendments 1952, 1972, 1973 and 2000, holding dual citizenship was not permitted. But now the government of Pakistan recognizes and allows its citizens to also hold citizenships of 16 countries, including Australia, Belgium, Canada, France, Iceland, New Zealand, Sweden, Switzerland, the United Kingdom, the United States, and others.

3Only under limited circumstances, cf.http://www.dualcitizenship.com/countries/lithuania.html; https://usa.mfa.lt/usa/en/travel-and-residence/counsular-issues/citizenship-of-lithuania

Countries which Do Not Allow Dual Citizenship

The following countries do not allow the acquisition of another citizenship:

BruneiKazakhstanMauritiusNorwaySolomon Islands
ChinaKiribatiMyanmarPapua New GuineaVenezuela
IndonesiaKuwaitNepalSaudi Arabia 

Request a Call Back


Have one of our qualified advisors contact you today.

Important: All information is treated with the highest confidentiality and subject to our privacy policy once received by us. The transfer of data contained in this form is protected by strong encryption even while in transit.